Breaking News

2018 Ballon d’Or: Ex-UEFA Pres. Platini names player to win award ahead of Messi, Ronaldo

Airtel Nigeria Call services
Social sharing

Former UEFA president, Michel Platini, has named France and Real Madrid defender, Raphael Varane as the player that deserves to win this year’s Ballon d’Or award ahead of Juventus star, Cristiano Ronaldo, Barcelona captain, Lionel Messi and others.

Recall that Varane was shortlisted for the 2018 Ballon d’Or award earlier this month.

“It has never been easier than this year to choose who is going to win the Ballon d’Or,” Platini told RMC.

“It’s a Frenchman who is going to win the Ballon d’Or. I hope so. There’s only one player who has won the Champions League and the World Cup – it’s Varane. There’s always the Ronaldo-Messi debate, but this year there’s only one, one who has won all that, his name is Varane.

“He’s an excellent player. I would have voted for him, the results are the only objective thing, everything else is subjective.

“We can have opinions about Griezmann, Mbappé, [Olivier] Giroud, [Hugo] Lloris, Modrić… But the only one who has won everything this year is Raphael Varane.”

Meanwhile, the last defender to win the biggest individual prize was Italian legend, Fabio Cannavaro in 2006.

Ronaldo and Messi have both dominated the award in the past decade.

The pair had won an incredible five awards each in that time frame, with Ronaldo equalling Messi’s tally last year.

The 2018 Ballon d’ Or award will take place on December 3, 2018 in Paris.

UBA Bank
About Uchenna Mbam 6178 Articles
Uchenna Mbam is a reliable full time Blogger on news media as Editor/Publisher. Be free to Contact me via Facebook @Mbam Uchenna or Email me

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: