AEDC: FG, electricity workers’ union sign MoU

Paying Social Media Jobs
Social sharing

The federal government and the National Union of Electricity Employees (NUEE) On Tuesday in Abuja signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on the Abuja Electricity Distribution Company (AEDC) franchise and the outstanding entitlements of workers.

The workers in the nation’s power sector, under the auspices of NUEE, served the government notice of industrial action over the planned sale of the Transmission Company of Nigeria (TCN).

AEDC’s franchise area includes Kogi, Nasarawa, Niger and the FCT.

The MoU was signed at the end of an expansive meeting between the leadership of NUEE and relevant government institutions in the power sector.

Those who signed the MoU included Alex Okoh, Director General, Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE), Sanusi Garuba, Chairman, Nigeria Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC), Alex Olebe, Ministry of Labour and Employment.Others were Goddy Agba, Minister of State, Power, Mr Joe Ajaero, General Secretary, NUEE and Mr Godfrey Abah Chairman, FCT Council NUEE.

According to the MoU, the government intervened with the firm arrangement to ensure the payment of the outstanding entitlements of AEDC staff within 21 days, starting from the date of the signing of the MOU.

“Based on the foregoing, the industrial action is hereby suspended,” the MoU stated.


READ ALSO  Civil Society Organisations to meet over Anti Corruption Bills
About Joseph Adeoye 89 Articles
Joseph Adeoye is a budding writer with a penchant for satire and humour. He's currently a news correspondent/reporter at 9News Nigeria. Contact him via Twitter @D_KlassiqueOne or you can send him an email at

Be the first to comment

Leave your comment

Paying Social Media Jobs
Paying Social Media Jobs
Paying Social Media Jobs