BREAKING!!! Police Takeover Edo Assembly As APC Set To Remove Speaker, Inaugurate 14 Members

Social sharing

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has perfected moves to remove Francis Okiye, the Speaker of the Edo State House of Assembly and replace him with Yekini Idiaye, the former Deputy Speaker who was impeached on Wednesday.

Following the Speaker’s removal and Idiaye’s election as the new Speaker, he is expected to swear in the 14 members-elect who were yet to be sworn in since the House was declared open on June 17 last year by Governor Godwin Obaseki.

A credible source told revealed that already a contingent of policemen have already forced their way into the Assembly complex that is being renovated with the aim of providing security for the 14 members- elect who have not been inaugurated.

The affected members-elect are Vincent Uwadiae, Ovia North-East II; Ugiagbe Dumez, Ovia North-East I; Washington Osifo, Uhunmwode; Victor Edoror, Esan Central; Kingsley Ugabi, Etsako East and Michael Ohio-Ezomo, Owan West.

Others are Sunday Aghedo, Ovia South-West; Chris Okaeben, Oredo West; Crosby Eribo, Egor; Seid Aliyu Oshiomhole, Etsako West II; Oshomah Ahmed, Etsako Central and Ganiyu Audu, Etsako West I.

The Edo State House of Assembly had on Wednesday accused the Governor of Imo State, Hope Uzodinma and other APC Leaders of plotting to forcefully take over the Assembly with the importation of a fake mace to perfect the act.

It also alleged that the plan was in connivance with the impeached Deputy Speaker, Yekini Idiaye who recently declared support for the governorship candidate of APC, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu.

Leave your comment on this post
READ ALSO  Buhari condoles Nzekwu’s family

Be the first to comment

Leave your comment