Elections May Not Hold In the Several North-West States Over Insecurity, Says Govs To Buhari

Social sharing

Nigerian governors think that elections may not hold in several northwest states as a result of the prevalent insecurity in the geopolitical zone.

North-west comprises seven states Are Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Sokoto, and Zamfara.

9News Nigeria understands that the governors shared their perspectives with President Muhammadu Buhari in a policy brief.

The governors also asked Buhari to look into the choice of running mate picked by Bola Tinubu, the APC presidential candidate, and its impact on northwest voter turn-out and commitment to the party.

They also called for an assessment of the outcome of the primaries conducted by the ruling party as well as the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Labour Party (LP), and New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

Last month, Tinubu unveiled Kashim Shettima, former governor of Borno, as his substantive running mate in next year’s election.

Leave your comment on this post
READ ALSO  Wife arrested for beating husband’s mistress to death in Adamawa

Be the first to comment

Leave your comment