JUST IN: Edo Assembly Inaugurates 17 New Lawmakers (Photo)

Airtel Nigeria Call services
Social sharing

Seventeen members-elect of the Edo State House of Assembly are currently being sworn in by deputy clerk of the Edo Assembly, 9news Nigeria report.

The event is taken place at an undisclosed location within Benin City following the ‘destruction’ of the Assembly complex on the alleged orders of Governor Godwin Obaseki.

Out of the 17 lawmakers, 14 are members-elect who were previously bypassed when the Governor proclaimed the Assembly in a controversial manner that saw the inauguration of 10 members of the 24-member House.

Three lawmakers loyal to the Obaseki course recently dumped the governor, pledging loyalty to the APC and its governorship candidate, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, refusing to decamp to the PDP with Obaseki.

Earlier, heavy duty trucks from Government House were seen heaping sand, granite and other construction materials at both the entrance and exit gates of the Assembly to prevent forced entry.

The roofs of the Edo Assembly complex were also forcefully removed on the alleged orders of Governor Obaseki, under the guise that they were old and needed to be replaced over the next few months.

About Uchenna Mbam 7703 Articles
Uchenna Mbam is a reliable full time Blogger on news media as Editor/Publisher. Be free to Contact me via Facebook @Mbam Uchenna or Email me @uchennambam23@gmail.com

Be the first to comment

Leave your comment

UBA Bank
  • BBNaija: Youths March For Laycon, Give Out Airtime For Voting (photos)

    Social sharing

    Social sharingAs the 2020 BBNAIJA lockdown gradually draws to a close, youths in Ogun State, on Thursday, staged a walk around Abeokuta, the state capital Read more

  • Cardi B Explains Why She Is Filling For divorce From Her Husband, Offset

    Social sharing

    Social sharingAmerican rapper, Cardi B, has explained why she is filling for divorce from her Migos rapper husband, Offset. The rapper gave the explanation via Read more

  • Wizkid to Drop ‘Made In Lagos’ Album Soon

    Social sharing

    Social sharingNigerian music sensation, Ayodeji Balogun, popularly known as Wizkid, is set to release his long awaited album titled ‘Made In Lagos’. Although the singer Read more

  • BBNaija: “It Was A Sad Moment For Me” – Erica Writes About Her Disqualification

    Social sharing

    Social sharing“It was a sad moment for me” Erica Nlewedim writes in first Instagram post since being disqualified from the Big Brother Naija reality show. Read more

  • BREAKING!!Nigerian lesbian movie “Ife” dares Censors Board, set for release

    Social sharing

    Social sharing Nigerian lesbian movie “Ife” produced by Pamela Adie and directed by Uyaiedu Ikpe-Etim is set for release despite stern warning from Nigerian Film Read more