2023 Election: Top Northern Politicians Who Lost Their Bids To Be Elected To The National Assembly (Names and Details)

Social sharing

Most of the prominent politicians from the North at the just concluded February 25 National Assembly elections in Nigeria were defeated, ranging from governors hoping to be elected as senators and to incumbent senators seeking a glorious return to the National Assembly.

Names and details:

  • Samuel Ortom, the incumbent governor of Benue state contested under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) lost his senatorial bid to Titus Zam of the All Progressives Congress (APC). Ortom was defeated at the just concluded 2023 National Assembly election with an unmatchable margin, he got 106,882 votes while Titus Zam polled 143,152 votes to emerge as the winner of the Benue North West Senatorial election.
  • Simon Bako Lalong: The incumbent governor of Plateau state and Director -General of the the All Progressives Congress (APC) Presidential Campaign Council is one of the most influential politician in the North. Lalong failed his bid to secure the ticket to the National Assembly. Lalong who is also the Chaiman, Northern Governors Forum (NGF) contested under the All Progressives Congress (APC) to become the senator representing southern zone of the state. The APC also lost in Plateau at the last Presidential election to Labour Party (LP). Lalong who scored 91,674 votes, while Napoleon Bali of the PDP polled unmatchable votes of 148,884 to clinch the seat.
  • Tanko-Almakura, former governor, governed Nasarawa state for a period of two terms contested under the All Progressives Congress, Nasarawa South. The highly influential politician scored 76,813 votes, while Mohammad Onawo of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) polled 93,064 votes to win clinch the seat.
  • Gabriel Suswam: Former governor of Benue state lost to Emmanuel Udende of the All Progressives Congress (APC) representing Benue North East Senatorial Zone scored 103,303 votes as against Emmanuel Udende who polled 141,405 votes to emerge the winner of the Benue North East Assembly seat.
  • Bala Na’ Allah, Former majority leader at the Senate, lost his reelection bid. Na’ Allah is a popular politician in the northern political circle, he represents the All Progressives Congress (APC). He lost to the PDP’s Garba Maidoki representing Kebbi South Senatorial District at the Senate. Na’Allah got 70,785 votes, whole Maidoki scored 75,232 to win the seat.
  • Ahmad Babba Kaita: His lost is the greatest tragedy in Katsina State due to his acceptability and popularity in the state political circle, his lost came as a surprised to many of his alliance. Babba-Kaita represents the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), lost his reelection bid to Nasir Zango- Daura of the ruling All Progressives Party (APC). Baba-Kaita scored 163,586 while Zango-Daura polled 174,062 votes to emerge victorious.
  • Darius Ishaku: The incumbent governor of Taraba state also failed in his bid to switch to the senate as he contested under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). Ishaku lost the bid to David Jimkuta of the All Progressives Congress (APC). The incumbent governor got 45,708 votes, while David Jimkuta polled a total of 85,415 to emerge as winner of the Taraba South Senatorial seat at the National Assembly.
  • Kabiru Gaya’s is arguably one of the longest serving senator in Nigeria, as his 16 years reign in the senate was ended by Sumaila Kawu. Kawu a former member of House of Representatives and represent the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP) Kabiru Gaya who was the former governor of Kano state and candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) scored 192,518 votes, while Kawu polled 312,857votes to emerge as the winner of Kano South senatorial district at he senate.
  • Abubakar Bagudu: The incumbent governor of Kebbi state lost woeful to his political godfather and former governor of the state, Adamu Aliero, he represent Kebbi central senatorial zone, Kebbi state. He scored 92,389, while Aliero polled 126,588 votes to clinch the ticket for Kebbi central senatorial seat at the Assembly.
READ ALSO  Christ Anglican Church Ulakwo Celebrates Mothering Sunday/Presents Special Award To Dignitaries (Photos)

Leave your comment on this post

Click this link below to vote for your best candidate in upcoming 2023 presidential election

Click here and vote now



About James Moses 404 Articles
James Moses is a 9News Nigeria news correspondent reporting from Jos, Plateau State. He is an experienced writer, journalist and blogger. He is passionate and flair for Politics, Sports and Entertainment reporting. Contact James Moses via his email address: jjmoses00@gmail.com

Be the first to comment

Leave your comment