Breaking News

PHYNO Awarded THE AUTHORITY Outstanding Artiste Of The Year 2016

Airtel Nigeria Call services
Social sharing
All roads led yester­day to the Yar’Adua Centre in Abuja, the Federal Capital Ter­ritory, where The AUTHOR­ITY newspapers hosted their maiden Awards for Excellence and Good Governance.
Indeed, the hall was over­flowing with a huge audience made up of the crème de la crème of the society – who wit­nessed the impressive ceremo­ny hosted by Dr Patrick Ifeanyi Ubah, the Publisher of The AU­THORITY newspapers.
No fewer than 13 eminent Nigerians were honoured in the maiden edition of The AU­THORITY Awards for Excel­lence and Good Governance. Three corporate organizations also shared in the glory – for rendering excellent services to the nation.
The ceremony was chaired by His Excellency, Dr Chuk­wuemeka Ezeife, a former Gov­ernor of Anambra State, while eminent constitutional lawyer
 and rights activist, Chief Mike Ozekhome, delivered the Key­note address.
Topping the bill of award winners was Dr Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, former President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, who won The AUTHORITY Icon of Democracy in Africa 2016.
Jonathan was represented by his former Minister of Special Duties, Barrister Tanimu Turaki (SAN), who received the award on his behalf.
The Rivers State Governor, His Excellency (Barr) Nyesom Ezenwo Wike, clinched the lau­rel of THE AUTHORITY Gov­ernor of the Year 2016.
Governor Wike was repre­sented at the ceremony by the Deputy Governor of Rivers State, Her Excellency, Dr Harry Ipalibo Banigo, who received the award on behalf of the People’s Gover­nor.
Enugu State Governor, His Excellency, Hon. Ifeanyi Ug­wuanyi, won the award of The AUTHORITY Outstanding Gov­ernor of the Year 2016 in Eco­nomic Development & Infra­structure.
Governor Ugwuanyi was rep­resented by Senator Utazi and Barrister Chijioke Edeoga, a com­missioner and ranking member of the state’s Executive Council.
The Executive Chairman of CHICASON GROUP, Dr Alex­ander Chika Okafor, was on hand to collect his award as The AU­THORITY Businessman of the Year 2016.
Mr Tony Ojobo was also on hand to receive his award as The AUTHORITY Outstanding Pub­lic Affairs Spokesperson of the Year 2016.
The Chief of Army Staff, Lt-General Yusuf Tukur Buratai, sent a representative who picked up his award as The Outstanding Service Personality of the Year 2016.
The three distinguished members of the National As­sembly who won laurels were also present to receive their awards: Senator Dino Melaye (THE AU­THORITY Most Courageous Senator of the Year 2016); Sena­tor Godswill Akpabio (THE AU­THORITY Legislator of the Year 2016) and Mrs Nkeiruka Onye­jeocha (THE AUTHORITY Fe­male Representative of the Year 2016).
The Group Managing Direc­tor, NNPC, Dr Maikanti Kacal­la Baru, was represented by his Executive Director who received his award as THE AUTHORITY Outstanding Public Servant of the Year 2016 on Service Delivery.
Fidelity Bank Plc, SUN­TRUST Bank Nigeria Ltd and the African Independent Television (AIT) were the corporate organ­izations which also won awards.
The Managing Director/Ed­itor-in-Chief of The AUTHORI­TY Newspapers, Mr. Madu On­uorah, said:
“The AUTHORITY Awards for Excellence & Good Govern­ance reflect a sober effort to rec­ognize and fete merit and excel­lence in diverse arenas of human endeavour in our country.”
Senator Dino Melaye and Senator Godswill Akpabio spoke on behalf of all the award win­ners – and they pledged to reded­icate themselves to the service of the nation and the people of Ni­geria. The award winners also commended The AUTHORI­TY Newspaper for its resilience and bold reportage and analysis of critical news and unfolding de­velopments in the country.
THE AUTHORITY Awards for Excellence & Good Govern­ance 2016 – Full List:
1.      THE AUTHORITY Icon of Democracy in Africa, His Excellency, Dr Goodluck Ebele Jonathan (former President of the Federal Re­public of Nigeria).
2.      The AUTHORITY Gover­nor of the Year, 2016 – H.E Governor (Barr.) Nyesom Wike (Rivers State)
3.      THE AUTHORITY Out­standing Governor 2016 in Economic Development & Infrastructure – H.E Gover­nor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enu­gu State)
4.      THE AUTHORITY Out­standing Governor of the Year 2016 in Job Creation – H.E Governor Ben Ayade (Cross-River State)
5.      THE AUTHORITY Out­standing Governor of the Year 2016 in Education – HE Governor Aminu Tambuwal (Sokoto State)
6.      THE AUTHORITY Business Man of the Year 2016 – Chief (Dr) Alexander Chika Okaf­or, OON.
7.      THE AUTHORITY Out­standing Service Personality of the Year 2016 – Lt-Gener­al Tukur Yusuf Buratai
8.      THE AUTHORITY Legisla­tor of the Year 2016 – Senator Godswill Akpabio
9.      THE AUTHORITY Most Courageous Senator of the Year 2016 – Senator Dino Melaye
10.  THE AUTHORITY Female Representative of the Year 2016 – Honourable Nkiru Onyejiocha
11.  THE AUTHORITY Out­standing Public Servant of the Year 2016 on Service Delivery – Dr Maikanti Kacalla Baru
12.  THE AUTHORITY Out­standing Public Affairs Spokesperson of the Year 2016 – Mr. Tony Ojobo
13.  THE AUTHORITY Out­standing Artiste of the Year 2016 – PHYNO
14.  THE AUTHORITY Bank of the Year 2016 – Fidelity Bank Plc
15.  THE AUTHORITY Most Innovative Bank of the Year 2016 – Sun Trust Bank Nig. Ltd.
16.  THE AUTHORITY Broad­cast Station of the Year 2016 – Africa Independent Televi­sion (AIT).
Soource: Authority News
UBA Bank
About 9News Nigeria 5284 Articles
9News Nigeria, Global Breaking News Platform, News from Nigeria, News from Africa, Nigerian News, African News

Be the first to comment

Leave your comment

%d bloggers like this: