Mgbakwu Secondary School Old Students Association Holds Inaugural Meeting, Vows to Move School To Next Level

Paying Social Media Jobs
Mgbakwu Secondary School Old Students Association Holds Maiden Meeting, Vows to Move School To Next Level
Mgbakwu Secondary School Old Students Association Holds Maiden Meeting, Vows to Move School To Next Level
Social sharing

The Old Students of Mgbakwu Community Secondary School formerly well-known as “Mgbakwu Boys” has inaugurated an association in order to synergize and move the school to the next level, 9News Nigeria reports.

The physical/inaugural meeting of the BOYS SECONDARY SCHOOL (BSS), now COMMUNITY SECONDARY SCHOOL (CSS) MGBAKWU OLD STUDENTS ASSOCIATION was held on Tuesday, 4th January 2022 at the school premises.

While rendering a keynote address at the inaugural meeting, the association’s inauguration committee chairman, Dr Chikelu Obalum (Chico) highlighted the need for the association to be part and parcel of what is going on in the school which is their alma-mater. He pointed out that many of those that passed through the school have become successful and great in different areas of life and society and therefore such success should be reflected in the success and progress of the school itself.

Dr Obalum highlighted the reasons that underpin the formation of Old Students Associations both in Nigeria and globally. He said such reasons include the availability of an enabling platform for partnership with other stakeholders in the education sector towards the uplifting of the welfare, reputation and overall performance of the school’s students and teachers.

He also added that Old Students Association evolved out of the need to give back to their former schools by the old students given the critical importance of education to human development.

A brief history of the school

Shedding light on the brief history of the school, Dr Obalum said that the school was established in the year 1977 as a boys-only school and that it enrolled its first set of students in September of the same year with Rev Egwuatu serving as its first-ever principal.

READ ALSO  'I Will Not Join ASUU Strike' - Prof. Suny Edeko, Dean, Faculty Of Law, AAU

Dr Obalum narrated that while the school’s pioneer students comprised young boys from across the present Nigerian states of Anambra, Enugu, Ebonyi, Delta, and Imo, the students of the school participated actively in academic and sporting competitions and had won several awards in recognition of their outstanding performances.

The meeting witnessed the presence of many Distinguished old students of the great Citadel of learning which once served as the only secondary school in the defunct Ezu Local government Area of Anambra state.

The Convener/Coordinator of the Old Students Association, Hon. IK Igwebuike, in his opening speech, decried the horrible state of infrastructure in the institution that was once the preferred choice of many students for their secondary education in the 80s and 90s.

He, therefore, called on the well-meaning old students, at home and in diaspora, to join hands together towards a structured effort to lift the institution to an enviable height. He enumerated the many challenges facing the school to include but not limited to:

  1. Palpable state of infrastructure,
  2. Inadequate/dilapidated classroom blocks.
  3. Massive/unrestrained encroachment on the school lands by some bad elements in the community and the need for a perimeter fencing of the school,
  4. Record poor performance in West African Senior School Certificate Examinations (WASSCE) and other external examinations which is attributable to inadequate teaching manpower;
  5. Poor state of the school environment, which predisposes the students to all manner of negative external influences etc.

Many old students expressed their happiness with the formation and inauguration of the OLD STUDENTS ASSOCIATION and the ongoing efforts geared towards changing the ugly narrative of the school. They recalled the significant contribution of the school towards making them who they are today in society and the need to give back to the system that moulded and supported them at the most critical period of their lives.


Amongst the Distinguished OLD STUDENTS that graced the occasion include:

  1. Hon. IK Igwebuike
  2. Mr Obinna Ejianya (SMOG)
  3. Mr Chikelu Oballum (Chico)
  4. Mr Oliver Chukwunonso Obichebe
  5. Rev. Edison Ozuah
  6. Rev. (Mrs) Ekwy Ozuah
  7. Mr Sunday Onwukobi
  8. Mr Ifechi Martins Ezemulueze
  9. Barr. Harford Ndubuisi
  10. Mr Michael Madumelu
  11. Sampson Onuora(Kwasi)
  12. Cannon Vincent Nkemdilim.
    And many others

The highlight point of the meeting was the facility tour of the school to enable a first-hand knowledge of the enormity of the task ahead.
On this, the following projects were undertaken to be constructed with immediate effect:

  1. Construction of a befitting entrance gate for the school by Mr Obinna Ejianya (SMOG).
  2. Renovation of the principal’s office by Mr Oliver.C. Obichebe.(Amicable).
  3. Payment of WAEC fees for 2021/2022 SS3 students by Mr Ifechi Martins Ezemulueze.
  4. Completion of the perimeter fencing of the school by The association (General).

And the host of other cash donors.

  • Mgbakwu Secondary School Old Students Association Holds Maiden Meeting, Vows to Move School To Next Level
  • Mgbakwu Secondary School Old Students Association Holds Maiden Meeting, Vows to Move School To Next Level
  • Mgbakwu Secondary School Old Students Association Holds Maiden Meeting, Vows to Move School To Next Level
  • Mgbakwu Secondary School Old Students Association Holds Maiden Meeting, Vows to Move School To Next Level
  • Mgbakwu Secondary School Old Students Association Holds Maiden Meeting, Vows to Move School To Next Level

Below are the comprehensive lists of all the interim executives and ADHOC committees and it’s members.

♦️ Members Of The Interim Excos

  1. Hon.Ikechukwu Igwebuike (President).

2. Dr Ifeanyi Ajaegbo (Vice President).

3. Michael Madumelu (Secretary).

4. George Oballum (Assistant Secretary).

5. Emmanuel Modozie (Financial Secretary).

6. Chikelu Oballum ( Treasurer).

7. Patience Udechukwu ( PRO).

8. Victor Arinze Nwoye (Provost I)

9. Eugene Onyeka (Provost II).

10. Chukwujekwu Nkwocha (Welfare Officer).

11. Bar.Hartford Ndubuisi (Legal Adviser).

12. Samuel Udenze (Ex- Officio).

13. Oliver .C. Obichebe ( Ex- Officio).

14. Obinna SMOG Ejianya (Ex- Officio)

15. Cannon Vincent Nkedilim ( Ex- Officio).

♦️ Works/Project Committee.

  1. Eugene Onyeka (Chairman).

2. Alex Nnanwude (Secretary)


3. Victor Nwoye (Member).

4. Samuel Udenze (Member).

5.Michael Madumelu (Member).

♦️ Financial And Fund Raising Committee.

  1. Chikelu Oballum (Chairman).

2. Priscilla Adamma Ekpe( Nee Chukwuma)(Ass. Chairman).

3.Edwin Obiekwe Anaso(Niga)(Secretary)

4. Ahidjo Maxwell Nkemdilim.(Member).

5. Oliver.C. Obichebe (Member).

6. Rev. Mrs Esther Ozuah(Member).

7. Obinna SMOG Ejianya( Member).

8.Ifechi Martin Ezemulueze(Member).

9. Sampson Onuora(Kwasi) (Member).

10. Prof. Luke Igweobi(Member)

♦️ Constitution Drafting Committee.

  1. Bar.Harford Ndubuisi (Chairman).

2. Ikenna Anaso ( Secretary).

3. Barleycorn Okeadu (Member).

4.Emmanuel Modozie (Member).

5.Samuel Oramulu ( Member).

6. Ginika Nwoye( Member).

7. Christian Edochie (Member).

About 9News Nigeria 10084 Articles
9News Nigeria is Nigeria's favourite news source. For Authentic, Unbiased News on Politics, Business, Sports, Technology, Entertainment and Lifestyles, Health, Nollywood, Crime and Investigations, Family and Relationships, Inspirations .. and much more. For Latest News from Africa and around the world, 9News Nigeria is your best source. WhatsApp +2348115805632 Email: Facebook: | Twitter/Instagram: @9newsng

Be the first to comment

Leave your comment

Paying Social Media Jobs
Paying Social Media Jobs
Paying Social Media Jobs