Nigeria’s Oyekola Scorpion Dominates WBF’s 2020 Award List

Paying Social Media Jobs
Social sharing
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Boxing-Oyekola.jpeg

After a thrilling fight to win the World Boxing Federation (WBF) International Super Featherweight title on December 27, Nigerian Ridwan ”Scorpion” Oyekola has emerged the WBF Boxer of the Month for December 2020.

Oyekola the International Featherweight Champion also won the prestigious ‘Newcomer of The Year’ award according to official statement released on the WBF website over the weekend.

“Oyekola showed his great potential with an outstanding win over the Argentine Lucas Mattias Montesino on December 27 in the fight of the year. Look out for great things in 2021 for this young fighter with huge potentials”, the statement reads in part.

Some of the previous winners of the award include: Donald Brown (USA) / Ayumu Hanada (Japan) 2019, Oluwaseun Joshua Wahab (Nigeria) 2018, Sherif Morina (Germany) 2017, Malik Zinad (Libya) & André Valavanis (Egypt) 2016, and Frans Ramabola (South Africa) who won it in 2015.

Oyekola beat Argentina’s Lucas Mathias Montesino by unanimous decision, in what was called a clear-cut fight of the year candidate by WBF President Howard Goldberg.

Only twenty-three years old, Oyekola who was celebrated on the official website of the boxing body took his record to 7-1-1 (5) while capturing his first international title, but there is certainly much more to come from this promising young man in the future according to WBF President.

While appraising the Fight of the Year: Ridwan Oyekola vs. Lucas M. Montesino which was the last WBF fight of the year, Goldberg described the ten rounds bout as “explosive toe-to-toe action, with every punch looking like it would result in a knockout”, saying it’s truly a captivating fight which will be remembered for many years to come.

READ ALSO  Trump travel ban unlawful, could lead to torture of refugees - U.N.

Previous Winners are: 2019: Ayanda Nkosi vs. Emanuel Lopez, 2018: Vasil Ducar vs. Samuel Kadje, 2017: Diego Diaz Gallardo vs. Michel Mothmora, 2016: Christopher Sebire vs. Martin Antonio Coggi, 2015: Jan Zaveck vs. Sasha Yengoyan, 2014: Rafik Harutjunjan vs. Ilya Prymak, 2013: Laszlo Toth vs. Giorgi Ungiadze, 2012: Juan José Montes vs. Oscar Ibarra I, 2011: Ali Funeka vs. Zolani Marali I, 2010: Evander Holyfield vs. Francois Botha, 2009: Kreshnik Qato vs. Fabio Liggieri

About Wale Fasade 200 Articles
FCT Abuja Bureau Chief 9News Nigeria

Be the first to comment

Leave your comment

Paying Social Media Jobs
Paying Social Media Jobs
Paying Social Media Jobs